ATrain Education


Continuing Education for Health Professionals

Infection Control and Prevention

Module 2

Six Elements of Infection Control

Since August 1992 New York State has had a legislative requirement in place that mandates training on infection control (IC) and barrier precautions for certain healthcare professionals at license renewal. While no other state currently has as stringent a licensing requirement in place, IC is a critical concern in healthcare professional practice and the six core elements outlined in the New York State Training Syllabus provide a useful stucture for understanding IC and barrier precautions. The six elements, which are also reflected in CDC and OSHA standards and requirements and in many state laws and regulations, are spelled out in the following box and then explained in the sections that follow.


The responsibility to adhere to scientifically accepted principles and practices of infection control and to monitor the performance of those for whom the professional is responsible.


Modes and mechanisms of transmission of pathogenic organisms in the healthcare setting and strategies for prevention and control.


Use of engineering and work practice controls to reduce the opportunity for patient and healthcare worker exposure to potentially infectious material in all healthcare settings.


Selection and use of barriers and/or personal protective equipment for preventing patient and healthcare worker contact with potentially infectious material.


Creation and maintenance of a safe environment for patient care in all healthcare settings through application of infection control principles and practices for cleaning, disinfection, and sterilization.


Prevention and management of infectious of communicable diseases in healthcare workers.

Source: NYSDOH, 2010

  • Online
  • Study the course, take the test, register and pay, print your certificate. Done!

  • Print Option
  • Click "Print Option" to print a hard copy with mail-in instructions.

  • Take the Test