ATrain Education


Continuing Education for Health Professionals


Module 1

The Millennium Development Goals

In 2011 United Nations member states signed off on a set of targets and commitments aimed at reversing the spread of HIV and AIDS throughout the world. Called the Millennium Development Goals, the 193 member countries set 10 goals to be achieved by 2015. The overall purpose is to halt and begin to reverse the HIV epidemic by 2015. This commitment by member nations has had a profound effect and represents unprecedented cooperation and agreement toward the eventual elimination of HIV.

2011 U.N. Political Declaration of HIV and AIDS:
Targets and Elimination Commitments

  1. Reduce sexual transmission by 50% by 2015.
  2. Reduce transmission of HIV among people who inject drugs by 50% by 2015.
  3. Eliminate new HIV infections among children by 2015 and substantially reduce AIDS-related maternal deaths.
  4. Reach 15 million people living with HIV with lifesaving antiretroviral treatment by 2015.
  5. Reduce tuberculosis deaths in people living with HIV by 50% by 2015.
  6. Close the global AIDS resource gap by 2015 and reach annual global investment of US$ 22 to 24 billion in low- and middle-income countries.
  7. Eliminate gender inequalities and gender-based abuse and violence and increase the capacity of women and girls to protect themselves from HIV.
  8. Eliminate stigma and discrimination against people living with and affected by HIV through promotion of laws and policies that ensure the full realization of all human rights and fundamental freedoms.
  9. Eliminate HIV-related restrictions on entry, stay, and residence.
  10. Eliminate parallel systems for HIV-related services to strengthen integration of the AIDS response in global health and development efforts.

Source: UNAIDS, 2014.

  • Online
  • Study the course, take the test, register and pay, print your certificate. Done!

  • Print Option
  • Click "Print Option" to print a hard copy with mail-in instructions.

  • Take the Test