NY: Infection Control and Prevention, including SepsisPage 4 of 13

2. Seven Elements of Infection Control

In 1992 New York State passed legislation establishing a requirement that certain healthcare professionals must receive training on infection control (IC) and barrier precautions every four years when they renew their license. Six elements of IC were identified in the New York State IC Training Syllabus. Then in 2008 the legislature required certain changes be made to the training curriculum, the training process, and those requiring training. In 2018, a seventh element (sepsis awareness and education) was added. The seven elements are spelled out in the following box and then explained in the sections that follow.


The responsibility to adhere to scientifically accepted principles and practices of infection control and to monitor the performance of those for whom the professional is responsible.


Modes and mechanisms of transmission of pathogens organisms in the healthcare setting and strategies for prevention and control.

ELEMENT III (updated guideline)

Use of engineering and work practice controls to reduce the opportunity for patient and healthcare worker exposure to potentially infectious material in all healthcare settings.


Selection and use of barriers and/or personal protective equipment for preventing patient and healthcare worker contact with potentially infectious material.

ELEMENT V (updated guideline)

Creation and maintenance of a safe environment for patient care in all healthcare settings through application of infection control principles and practices for cleaning, disinfection, and sterilization.


Prevention and management of infectious or communicable diseases in healthcare workers.

ELEMENT VII (added in 2018)

Sepsis awareness and education.

Source: NYSDOH, 2017.

Back Next